Why become a member? ×

How important is mastering?

bassix

Hi,

My band are gearing up to record our debut album in the next few months, we are recording at reputable studio who will also be mixing the tracks for us. I am wondering what the value in mastering the album is and whether it is worth the extra money to have this done at a separate studio?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to recording processes so any insights welcome.

I'm sure there are plenty of people who will be able to give you a more informed and detailed response than I can, but a decent mastering job will add that certain "fairy dust" element that can often make your record sound like a "proper" album rather than a demo. Which is odd, given that it mainly seems to involve compressing and EQ'ing certain frequency bands and making sure the overall level doesn't change too much between tracks. They may also ask whether you'd like your record to keep some dynamic range, or whether you'd prefer that it was compressed to buggery to compete in the ongoing "loudness war."

I'd be inclined to send your mixed tracks away to somebody else for mastering - mainly because most of the recording engineers we've worked with have recommended the same! I can't remember how many of them offered it as an additional service, but at least one of them stated quite emphatically that he preferred to master tracks he hadn't mixed himself.

[quote name='MacDaddy' timestamp='1430820161' post='2764779']
Mastering can be the difference between your album sound like a demo or a release quality product.
[/quote]

+1. Absolutely vital and worth every penny.