Why become a member? ×

Techniques you struggle with

Reggae is easy; play less and never go above the fourth fret.

What is interesting is that almost all of the above posts reference difficulties with techniques that are practically useless :lol:

Fopr instance, I don't slap particularly well and double thumbing is weak. The reason for this is primarily that, whilst the techniques in question undoubtedly turn heads, I DON'T LIKE THE MUSIC THAT IS PLAYED USING THEM AND NEVER PLAY THE MUSIC THAT IS PLAYED USING THEM. So, in short, the techniques are of no real use to me. Hence, I do not practice them, hence, I am not very good at them.

When I was a fledgling bass player, I learned lots of the required party pieces that use odd techniques (5G by Jeff Berlin, Schooldays by Stanley Clarke, Motherlode by Berlin, Country Music by Stu Hamm etc). I also learned to play Pat Metheny's 'Are You Going With Me' as a two-handed extravaganza. As I moved on, however, I realised that these techniques are pretty much peripheral to the world of music making. I suspect the above list of 'difficulties' reflects that fact that most of the things we have 'difficulties' with are not bass playing but party tricks.

Rapid alternation of first and second fingers - someone broke my hand several decades ago and so my right forefinger is a little shorter and lower than it should be, and I've never been able to compensate properly for that. I don't have any problems playing classical guitar style though.

Slap bass - I've got as far as hitting strings with my thumb (mostly accurately) and haven't progressed any further in the last 25 years.

[quote name='Bilbo' timestamp='1432195527' post='2778989']
What is interesting is that almost all of the above posts reference difficulties with techniques that are practically useless :lol: