Why become a member? ×

As a new player, what should I be looking at when I purchase my first bass?

Naetharu

Hi folks,

I've just started playing bass. At the moment I am using an old (1990s I think) Squire Jazz Bass that a friend has lent me. I'm hoping to go and purchase my own bass and amp this weekend and I am looking for a few tips as to what I should be looking for. I'm not looking for advice on which bass brand/model as such, but rather what I should be looking at to make my mind up when it comes to the basses I try. As a newbie I'm not sure how to judge if a bass is good or not, and so I thought I would try and tap some wisdom here rather than making a mistake that I only come to realise later on. I have around £400 to spend on the bass, so does anyone have a few tips about what I should be looking out for when it comes to basses that are around that price range?

For example, I know with guitars that lighter weight Strats are preferred as they tend to sing better than their heavier counterparts, and that fixed bridges are nice for beginners since they are easier to tune etc. Are there any important tips about basses in general that I should be aware of when I go to get my one?

Many thanks for your help

James

I assume that you'll be purchasing said new bass from a Musical Instrument Emporium?

Try quite a few out before buying don't feel pressurised into buying anything, it's your money at the end of the day, spend it wisely. Don't look at spending all your budget, there's loads of great gear out there around £100-200.

Look at Squire Jazz because you're used to them first, and work from there. Consider getting something like a Vox Stomplab, that you can use with headphones.

Good luck! :)

[quote name='barkin' timestamp='1432138315' post='2778533']
Not quite what you're asking, but...if I were in your shoes I'd be all over the Yamaha BB424x in the For Sale section.
[/quote]