Why become a member? ×

Greetings!

nekothesoldier

Hello everyone I am a sixteen years old kid who wants to start playing bass and I am here to ask for you experienced people's advice.
The first thing is that I am not really good at guitar (I have been a beginner for like 3 years because I don't practice enough...) and some people tell me that I have to be good at guitar to play bass. Is that true?
Thanks in advance.

Good afternoon, NTS, and ...

[sharedmedia=core:attachments:167528]

Plenty to read and amuse you here, and lots to learn and share.
[quote]...[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]Is that true?...[/quote][/font][/color]
No, that's not true. Although similar in some aspects, playing bass and playing guitar are two different skills. There is a common factor: both require practise in order to improve. 'Little and often' is the usual advice; short but regular is much better than long stints too far apart. It is recommended to have at least a couple of lessons from a competent bass teacher; this will get you going on the right track from the very outset. Patience is a good quality to have, too, preferably in bucket-loads. Lastly, don't listen to 'people', listen instead, firstly to yourself, then those who know and want you to get on. This, in any domain. Good luck with your projects; let us know how things progress, please..?

Thank you very much for your advice.
I don't have a bass for myself yet because of several concerns, one of which is that I am afraid I will get the wrong one and can't make the right progress.
However, I am planning to go for one this summer and that might be a 1977 Fender Precision Bass since my favorite bassist of all time (he's quite young and not some legend though) has been playing it throughout his career.
I wonder if it is a wide choice for a complete beginner like me?
Thanks again.

[quote name='nekothesoldier' timestamp='1432388299' post='2781054']...