Why become a member? ×

Advice needed on bass purchase

Trimmo91

Hi, I've owner a cheap ply bass for a few months. Has been great for getting to grips with the instrument. I now want to upgrade, most probably to a hybrid.

I mainly play arco and want to avoid a nasally tone.
Here are my current options:
https://m.thomann.de/gb/thomann_kontrabass_22_02.htm
Or
http://www.gedo-musik.de/shop/product.php?id_product=985

My previous bass was from Thomann and I found their services fantastic.

I am also tempted by the Thomann 33 carved bass, but would hate the idea costly repairs in the future as im a uni student.
https://m.thomann.de/gb/thomann_kontrabass_33_02.htm

Any advice would be greatly appreciate.

If you mainly play arco it might be worth considering upgrading your bow first rather than upgrading your bass(you don't give any info on the bow you are using), it might also be worth a look at your choice of strings (you don't mention whether you have changed them out from factory standard ones) and choice of rosin.

Have you had any setup work done on your current instrument by a luthier, or is it still in the same state it arrived from thomann?

Yes, as SubsonicSimpleton says,
The choice of bow is also important
and maybe it's also down to technique
and strings would certainly effect the sound & tone

Some strings like nylon coated or wrapped can sound dreadful when bowed....
Lots of research is needed before big purchases in the world of DB

Re your choice, I've heard good reports of both Thomann and Gedo
But I think a lot of BC'ers really like Gedo

Good luck :)

I am using a very good quality wooden bow, that I do not know much about that I am borrowing from a fellow student at university.

I am using Presto Balance Hybrid Medium Gauge Strings

Pops Rosin
All of these elements work really well for me, I am comfortable in my playing but looking to have a bass suitable to potentially play in my universities orchestra next year.