Why become a member? ×

Help the amp with eq pedal?

taha_never

Hi folks. newbie here.
my rumble 60 v1 voice lacks @ around 120-130Hz and is exaggerated @ 800Hz.
preamp knobs are at 50, 330, 1.6k and 8k. even with cutting all of them it still lacks the boom at upper lows (120-130Hz i mean). i suspect that the problem may be the cabinet design.
so i was looking into a Boss GEB-7 eq pedal which has the exact 120 & 800 controls.
i know i can't expect much from a practice amp. but will this eq pedal help recovering those freqs? or there's no way this cab reproduces them? better run it before the preamp or in the fx loop?

current setup: MIM P > rumble60
thanks all

Should work fine, if the controls on the amp itself affect the frequencies selected then I can`t see why a graphic on other frequencies - especially withing the range of the amp - wouldn`t work. It does seem that on many amps now the bass setting is 40 or 50hz - gives a lot of lows but to me not really in the right place. I`d prefer a tad higher as well. Using a graphic is a good way to do it, I read that Bruce Thomas, of Elvis Costello & The Attractions fame used the Boss graphic to get his sound.

These look quite good as well:

http://www.sourceaudio.net/products/toolblox/programmable_eq.php

Edited by Lozz196

My personal thoughts would be, if it's only a small practice amp and it's struggling to produce certain sound frequencies etc., I would put my money into saving towards something bigger with better quality sound production, than putting £20-100 into an EQ to try to fix a problem with something that will struggle to keep up in anything other than a small gig situation. If you're only using the amp for practice then I'd just accept that it's what the amp sounds like and it has certain deficiencies, but you're only using it for practice so that's cool.