Why become a member? ×

Help with Double Bass Purchase

curacao

I have agreed to buy my 10 year old daughter a double bass for her birthday as she has reached grade 4 in her exams and is very keen to continue. At the moment she has a school double bass that is quite battered and now too small. She need a 3/4 size one (she is tall!) and we have seen a black starter one on a few sites e.g. Gear4music etc. I have no musical talent / knowledge and am panicking about whether it is ok to have a black Double bass or if it s just naff!!. She uses a school one when at school so the black one would live at home with us. Her double bass teacher says she should buy one that will be her 'forever double bass' but I am thinking it is better to start with this on which is approx £450 and see how she feels later when she reaches senior school (and, more importantly, teenage) before spending a lot on a better quality one.....
Any advice very much appreciated!!

Sadly, perhaps, I depends hat she wants to play on it! If it's orchestral music a black bass might not go down a storm. I have some sympathy with her teacher where this is concerned. I was lucky enough to have a very fine double bass to learn on, and it made a huge difference to how much I practised. And in strictly financial terms, a cheap bass will only get cheaper, while a quality instrument with a bit of age will certainly never lose you money. If you can afford it, have faith and get something that will go with her as far as she wants to go.

Good luck!!

Having been to Gear4music and seen their starter basses I wouldn't recommend one to anyone.

Stentor do a nice student bass, I picked one s/h and with a bit of work to the bridge and some decent strings it plays and sounds great.

https://youtu.be/4DFlTWfYF1A

Edited by Mr Bassman

Not much love for Gear4Music on here.

Unfortunately, a poor bass would be doing your daughter no favours. Cheap usually means hard to play as well as fragile.