Why become a member? ×

Advice about adjusting the neck on my bass

Naetharu

Hi folks,

I'm after a little help. My bass is making a rather nasty buzzing noise when I play the lower (E and A) strings from about the 7th to the 11th fret. Given how hot its been over the past few days I'm guessing that the neck may have moved a little and it will need to be adjusted to compensate.

I've never done this before and I'm a little nervous about how to go about doing so. I've had a read around the internet but I would appreciate some solid guidelines to follow from someone here as I trust you folks a lot more than some random website / you-tuber who may or may not know what they are talking about.

Best wishes

James

As the hot spell isn't meant to last very long I'd leave adjusting it for a few days & see what happens. If you adjust it now you might well just have to adjust it back again soon anyway.

Does the buzz actually come through the amp or does it just sound like that when you play the bass acoustically?

If you have to do this, for one make sure you`ve got the right tools, and for two, write down whatever adjustments you make.

From there, well with the truss rod just loosen it off slightly, a quarter of a turn. Which way, I hear you ask? Well lefty-loosey, righty-tighty is the way to remember, so anti-clockwise to out some relief in the neck and hopefully stop this. But it takes a while to settle, so if it hasn`t worked instantly leave for at least a few hours - may well settle in.

It sounds like a combination of a low action and a little too much relief so I agree it probably needs tightening and possibly the action adjusted. Best way to check for relief is to fret a string at the first fret and the topmost fret and see if the string has just enough room to vibrate a tiny bit.

[quote name='Naetharu' timestamp='1435668564' post='2811164']
Hi folks,