Why become a member? ×

First time gigging - any good tips?

Naetharu

Hi folks,

So I started playing bass a couple of months ago and its pretty much turned into my main passion in life! Anyhow, I've now joined a band and am off to my first rehearsal tomorrow with a view to do the first gig in a couple of weeks. As you can no doubt imagine I'm pretty nervous about it (an excited too!) and so I was just wondering if any of you experienced people have some tips that might help me out. Anything you have picked up over the years that someone as green as me might not think about would be very useful.

Best wishes

James

First gig I played, aged 21-ish, was on guitar and I hid behind the PA for most of it. It was terrifying but immediately got under my skin.

Simple things as advice: as a band you'll rehearse your tunes and your set, but get used to trying to minimize the time spent between songs. Also make sure that you get used to setting up & packing down quickly, and that you have everything that you need in your kit ready to go (spare cables, tuner, cloth or towel, that sort of thing).

Edit: I strongly recommend having a pedalboard all hooked up to a power supply. It prevents flat batteries and makes changes really quick. Plus you know where all your stuff is. ;)

Most of all enjoy. You should have a blast.

Oh, and be nice to the sound man - that's really important!

Edited by hairychris

Keep it simple. In every respect.

Don't load yourself down with pedals, gadgets, surplus equipment ... don't give yourself extra work to do, extra things to worry about, more stuff that can go wrong.

Unless you're entirely money-driven, your first few gigs should be all about the experience and (hopefully) the fun.

Enjoy!

I concur with what Jack said - Defo keep the gear down to a minimum.

Also try and play through/warm up as much as possible at home before you head off so you're not starting off completely cold.