Why become a member? ×

Listening to music as a bass player

ballstomonty

When I first started playing bass I used to listen to music as a whole. In fact I found it hard to pick out individual elements in music apart from solos etc.

When I look back I had an incredibly poor understanding of what was going in terms of individual instruments and their interactions.

As a result of this it took ages for me to truly get a handle on what the bass does in music, which again slowed down my progress as a player.

However, when I listened to music the fact I heard as a whole made it immersive and magical.

Now my brain immediately picks things apart and can understand the bass part and all the other aspects working together. But it's lost some of the magic as a result.

Anybody else had this experience?

Edited by ballstomonty

Yes, I know exactly what you mean - I found the same thing when I started playing music. I think it's why punters will know [I]something[/I] is off when a band aren't playing well, but might struggle to tell you [I]what[/I] about the performance is lacking

Though I guess a more accurate description would be "listening to music as a musician" :)

As I grew up playing instruments, I couldn't tell you when I've not listened to each instrument's part in the song.
I do listen to the song as a whole, but my wife listens to songs very differently from me. She'll like a song just based on the overall sound & the vocal melody.
I listen to it & even if the singer isn't an amazing vocalist, I listen to what they've put with the music, just like with the bass, it's not about how technically skilled they are there, it's about how they've come up with a great sounding part (Adam Clayton is a good example, many great basslines, most which a beginner could play).
There's been many times I've said "Ohh, I like that wee synth sound that comes in here" & the Mrs says "What synth sound?". :lol:

Sometimes I do wish I could hear songs like she does though.