Why become a member? ×

Multi Effects Pedal Advice!

AJ88

Hi

I've been playing bass for a couple of years now and have just joined my first band. I've always played the bass clean but since joining I've thought about maybe getting a multi effects pedal. The band is a three piece (guitar, bass and drums) so thought effects might help thicken up the sound a bit, we play mainly rock/indie covers as well as some originals and will be playing in small/medium pubs etc.

I know individual effects pedals will give me a better sound quality but I thought I'd try a multi effects to see what I like before buying all sorts of different individual pedals and never using certain ones.

I have a pretty decent combo amp which I think will be loud enough for where we'll be playing and if not the amp has a direct out to send the signal to the PA system so I'm not too bothered about amp modelling.

I've done some research and these are the effects pedals I've been thinking of and I wondered if anyone could give me some advice on which would be better for me?

[b]Zoom B3[/b]
[b]Line 6 M9/M13[/b]
[b]Zoom B9.1 [/b]used because I don't think they are make them anymore
[b]Boss GT10B [/b]again used

I'm definitely open to other suggestions though

Cheers

Alec

I use a zoom ms60b as part of my board, and it sounds great. All the newer zoom units use the same algorithms (by newer i mean b3/ms60b/b1on). Id definitely suggest getting a zoom one.

The differences between the newer zoom units are:
b3. 3 effects, all with own footswitch and knobs.
ms60b. 4 effects, smaller footprint (same size as your average boss pedal)
b1on. 5 effects, middle sized footprint, cheapest (+avilable as b1xon with an expression pedal attached).

[quote name='ambient' timestamp='1436647621' post='2819797']
Are separate pedals really better sounding ?

I just switched to a multi effects after using separates, and I think it's much better.
[/quote]