Why become a member? ×

Playing Dives

blue

[size=3][font="Arial"]Playing bass guitar for me is not some flippant thing I do when the mood strikes me or when the occasional gig comes up, this is what I do for a living. It's been the most significant part of my life since 1966. It's all I think about really[/font][/size]
[size=3] [/size]
[size=3][font="Arial"]Occasionally the displeasure of playing some of the less desirable bars and pubs known as dives come up.[/font][/size]
[size=3] [/size]
[size=3][font="Arial"]It might be different in the States, but my band has a few of theses dives in rotation. [/font][font="Arial"]I am no longer going to these dives with a sad face. First of all they pay us the same $400.00- $500.00 we charge some of the nicer places. My whole point her is taking a more professional attitude instead of whining and complaining. It's work and your getting paid.[/font][/size]
[size=3] [/size]
[size=3][font="Arial"]I am sure I am not the only guy here that has seen some famous heavy weights end up doing small bar gigs. It happens. What I noticed is, these guys are pros and still give off that vibe. And when you catch that vibe, guess what, that dive club all of sudden feels like the cool place to be.[/font][/size]
[size=3] [/size]
[size=3][font="Arial"]I say go into that dive gig with your band mates with a good attitude and have fun. Your still "On Stage Talent" even if there ain't no stage.[/font][/size]
[size=3] [/size]
[size=3][font="Arial"]Act like a Pro![/font][/size]
[size=3] [/size]
[size=3][font="Arial"]Blue[/font][/size]

[quote name='gjones' timestamp='1437771252' post='2829023']
My definition of a 'dive bar' is when you think you may end up in a fight, by the end of the night, with one (or all) of the clientele.
[/quote]

Here's a tip;

Don't make eye contact with anyone.

Especially if 90% of the crowd looks like they were recently released from jail.

Blue

[quote name='Oopsdabassist' timestamp='1437771147' post='2829021']