Why become a member? ×

Buzzing/Electrical Issues - From The House Electrics!

spongebob

Hoping to tap into some technical brains here!

A few weeks ago, we had some electrical work done on the house.

Moved in a month or so back, and initially, all was fine with my amps.

However, the house previously had an earth stake in the ground, this was replaced by a new distribution board, and all earthed to the current regulations.

The trouble is, since then, my amps are buzzing really loudly. Worse is when I play the single-coil pup'd vintage Ricky, it's like a wasps' nest until you touch the bridge!

We temporally removed the earth from the main fuse, and it stopped (but of course this was replaced immediately!)

What can I do here? Is there anything I can use between the socket and the amps as a noise-reducer?

Or is there a proper electrical cure?

BTW - I have written this post with technical assistance - I am not an electrician, but I do know some! Any work will be carried out by professionals only! :)

Has the amp ever had a Portable Appliance Test?
Is the guitar lead shielded and is there continuity on all conductors? Could there be a loose lead in the guitar itself?
If there's an earth issue on only one item of equipment it's likely to be the equipment itself that's at fault.
I assume the new house earth is a PME system of some sort (i.e. earthed via the supply neutral)? If so your sparky will have given you a certificate with test results; this will hopefully show that your new earth loop impedance (i.e. the a.c. resistance from your house to the supply transformer) is less than 0.35ohms, which means that anything that's properly earthed won't be able to build up sufficient voltage between neutral and earth to give audible (or dangerous!) problems.