Why become a member? ×

band fees and free beer

julietgreen

[quote name='TimR' timestamp='1440267647' post='2849508']
Unfortunately we're often up against IT professionals who get 3x that for a day's work in their day job and whose idea of fun is to play a NYE gig.
[/quote]

As an IT professional, I can only say: if only...

[quote name='Bilbo' timestamp='1439802416' post='2845787']
No way I would be ALLOWED to do NYE for less than £200. If I am asked I tell them to ask their wife if she would 'release' them on that evening, off all evenings, for just £40 and beer.
[/quote]

Basically this.. Music is officially part of my living, so a paying gig is good, but NYE has to be a good payer or I'll be spending time with the wife. If any bands I play with don't get that, it's their night out!

Well, they'll keep asking as long as bands are prepared to do it.

Personally I've always thought there are too many bands and too many gigs and the relaxation of the music licence laws was NOT a good
thing. Most decent bands I know say the same thing.

Reminds me of when, a few bands back, we would be asked to do charity gigs. They would pay the bouncers, food/barstaff, sound engineer, etc. etc., but would expect bands to play for free/beer because its a charity gig.
On majority vote the band usually ended up taking the gigs for exposure, and if anything it led to less and less paid work.

To go out on NYE,is expensive, so there are always bands who will do it for free, or cheap, possibly not realising quite how much its worth. It gives them something to do for free, they can invite their friends, take the wife and sometimes the kids, and show off. Then 2nd Jan its back to the desk job and dreams of well paid gigs.

I took a 10 year break in the 80s, and when I started again I played in a covers band like that for a couple of years and was surprised by the attitude towards getting paid,