Why become a member? ×

Cable making popping/cracking sounds

heminder

I was hearing popping sounds while I was playing one day, and by process of elimination I determined that the cable I was using has gone bad. It's an Elixir cable which really does sound fantastic due to its ultra low capacitance, and they don't make them any more.

Now, I'm not experienced in bad cables, so I was wondering if this kind of problem usually happens at the connectors or along the cable itself? The reason I ask is that I'd like to try to salvage the cable by replacing the jacks, but if the problem happens along the wire then I may not bother.

Edited by heminder

Generally it will be at the ends as these are the stress points.

You can generally identify which end is the culprit, while it's in use, by using a controlled wiggle and finding out which end the crackle occurs on. This usually has the added benefit of working out roughly where the cable is degraded.

You may be unlucky and find that the break is somewhere close to the middle as it's happened where a cable has been repeatedly kinked.

Hope this helps

As above, check the connections at both ends - if both are good then it will be in the cable itself somewhere.

Cables can and do break. If you've tried alternative cable then you can assume it's not the instrument's jack socket.

Good expensive cable normally has a long warranty, 10 years or so. I think you have to keep the packaging though!

How many of us do that!

Thanks guys. It only pops very occasionally, but when it does it's pretty damn loud. I'll have a controlled wiggle (lol) and hopefully a good length of it is salvageable. If not, I'll just make patch leads out of it :)

I did contact Elixir and they set me a pack of strings, since they don't make cables any more. All is well in the end.