Why become a member? ×

Valve amp buzz

Twincam

I've got a buzz coming from my amp. I thought it was the caps or the valves so all the caps have been changed. And I figured it was the valves but on taking all the valves out the buzz is still there. It's still there when no speaker attached. The buzz is constant it doesn't change with volume control or bass plugged in or not.

Sounds like it could be coming from the transformer. I've tried pressing on the transformer in case it was loose but it didn't change. I assume it's not the output transformer as the buzz isn't coming through the speaker.

Other than that the amp works great no trouble at all. Suggestions? Although I think it's now best off at an amp tech. Is there any harm in using it?.

I'm no expert but is it definitely the amp? my rig buzzes like hell at home whenever I stand anywhere near the lights.... dodgy house electrics.

*edit - oh I see its comming straight from the amp not whats coming out the speakers? In that case it's probably not the lights...

Edited by CamdenRob

Hi Twincam,

A word of warning is that you should never operate a valve amp without a speaker lead connected as it can cause damage the output transformer.

What is the make and model of the amp?

All transformers and wound components will vibrate to some extent. Usually it should be so quiet that its not a problem ie ok for recording. Anything more than that then I would try and work out the source as you are doing by applying pressure to the various safely exposed parts. Sometimes tightening the transformer screws will fix it. Depending on the amp there are screws that pull the laminates together and then there are screws that secure the transformer to the chassis.

Other sources are of buzz are neon lights, capacitors

[quote name='mikeydee' timestamp='1440412470' post='2850368']
Hi Twincam,