Why become a member? ×

Bows

JoeEvans

What's anyone's experience of using different bows? I'm a relative beginner on the double bass, really enjoying playing arco; I currently have a fairly basic carbon fibre bow which I think would have been pretty much the bottom of the range, maybe £70 - £80 new. As I find myself spending more and more of my practice time using the bow, I'm contemplating investing in a slightly better one. I was looking at the Carbondix bows on Thomann, which are somewhere round £160.
Will I notice the difference in playing, do you think? And is it ever going to be a good idea to buy a bow without trying it first?

I purchased a double bass from Thomann that came with a nasty bow and i also bought a Carbon fibre German bow from Thomann. Both were trash. I couldn't get either to produce a good full tone, they were scratchy and weak. I kept saying it has to be my technique as I am fairly new to arco. I then borrowed a friends decent bow for a while and it made a whole world of difference. I instantly sold my two bows, and used to money to buy a Yita music bow on Ebay. Reasonably priced but is a fantastic bow. Geoff Chalmers at Discover double Bass endorses Yita music bows too.

This is what I purchased : http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Premium-Brazilwood-Double-Bass-Bow-French-Style-D21-/310722859502?hash=item48588691ee

Hope that helps

It's worth paying a bit of money for a decent bow. What qualifies as decent varies. Edgar Meyer is quoted as saying he plays the same old crappy stick that he started with because it starts the note well.

Waiting for a rehair, I bought a £70 bow from Amazon. It was horrible. Really weak sound in comparison to the bow I bought from Ken Smith Basses, and it lost hair every time I used it.