Why become a member? ×

BC bass weight obsession

chevy-stu

I'm relatively new here, but one thing that seems to stand out and I don't get is what seems like many forum members concerns about the weight of a bass.

I've been playing bass for 37 years, and regularly gigging for most of this, been a pro for nearly 20 years, gigging 3-4 times a at week on average, and never once has it ever crossed my mind what a bass might weigh, unless it's flight cased for taking on a plane, or shipping.
I appreciate some people have back problems and then a particularly heavy 6 stringer may prove to be an issue.
I've owned and lugged some stupidly heavy gear over the years, along with PA etc.... and I went lightweight amp wise myself about 3 years ago, but bass weight never occurred to me, I just don't get it.

Can someone explain.. :mellow:

I guess it's more of an problem for some than others... I don't have any issues at all with my basses and they both weigh nearly 5kg.

But then again I'm playing originals and our gigs are 45 min tops, so I might find it more of a problem playing covers for hours down the dog and duck. I do regular three hour rehearsals though and they arent an issue either.

[quote name='chevy-stu' timestamp='1443021468' post='2871536']
I'm relatively new here, but one thing that seems to stand out and I don't get is what seems like many forum members concerns about the weight of a bass.

I've been playing bass for 37 years, and regularly gigging for most of this, been a pro for nearly 20 years, gigging 3-4 times a at week on average, and never once has it ever crossed my mind what a bass might weigh, unless it's flight cased for taking on a plane, or shipping.
I appreciate some people have back problems and then a particularly heavy 6 stringer may prove to be an issue.