Why become a member? ×

BASS COMPRESSOR PEDALS? recommedations please...

Greg.Bassman

I've never used a compressor before, (and admittedly) I've always tried to steer away from them, as I've feared that they might change my tone in some way.

I have a couple of effects pedals that I really like (in particular the Digitech Bass Synth Wah); a great sounding pedal, but seems to go crazy loud/sensitive when activated. Anyways, a friend suggested that I look into 'compression', just level everything out.

What are some of the better bass compressor pedals on the market right now; one that isn't going to compromise my tone per se, but rather, do exactly what compression is supposed to do, and simply squish everything together?

Cheers. Greg.

In general compression is not the best way to fix signal-chain gain issues, mainly because this will completely kill your dynamics, which is often not what people want. OTOH pedals that don't preserve unity gain are indeed a PITA, because if you don't leave them always on you really need some sort of looper in order to tame them. I suggest you try something like a Boss LS-2 for this. It's relatively cheap and has a million uses.

Edited by ProfFrink

I did for a long while always use an EBS Comp on my pedal board to deal with the same problem you are having. I thought I had some success and didn't lose anything using very mild compression.

I have just recently gone back to only using a tuner and phaser and done away with the compressor, it only comes out now for recording.
They are a nice compressor easy to setup and not too expensive

[quote name='ProfFrink' timestamp='1443848565' post='2878119']
In general compression is not the best way to fix signal-chain gain issues, mainly because this will completely kill your dynamics, which is often not what people want.
[/quote]

Unless used correctly. I find the most common problem with compression not to be raising the existing noise floor rather than killing off your attack/dynamics.