Why become a member? ×

Anyone one use a volume pedal

GM10

Arguably I'm just a beginner so what do I know, but I actually have both the Ernie-Ball Jr and a less-known pedal called "EWS Subtle Volume". It's basically a big knob that you can operate by foot which has a taper that gives you finer control over the higher volume range. I actually haven't got round to installing the EWS on my pedalboard yet, so only did a few short tests with it, but it looks like if you want to do volume-swells (which I never do) you want the EB Jr and if you want to make small changes to volume near that top of the range, the EB is a bit too fiddly. I think once i have time the EWS is going to get a permanent place at the back of my chain.

Volume pedals don't really affect the volume of the bass in the same way that the volume knob on the bass does.

You can use the volume control on the bass as an extension of the tone controls, you can get a slightly choked tone from your bass which may or may not work for you and it has a knock on effect to the tone controls as well (more obvious on passive instruments I'd say).

I used to use the Fender volume pedal in conjunction with delays and reverbs to create some awesome swell effects but that's all I used it for. For muting between songs I just used the control on the bass.

I've pretty much always used one - mainly for swells but for a while I used it as a volume attenuator setting the minimum volume slightly lower than the full volume. This meant that I could play with it rocked back most of the time and then rock it forwards to full for louder passages like a volume boost.
My cheap and cheerful old plastic Bespeco pedal broke at my last gig after about 18 years service though so I'll be trying out my new Morley Volume Plus tonight.
It has a footswitch to turn the minimum level control on and off so it can be used for full swells or as an attenuator which should make it a pretty versatile bit of kit.