Why become a member? ×

Bass plugins for Reaper DAW

Che

Hi all,

just a total newbie here who started recording a bit. I use Reaper. I've heard that Reaper has many plugins for guitar and bass in form of amps and cabs and pedals and what not but I seem not to have all those.

For bass I only found the Fender Bassman. Whatever comes with it in the FX window like distortion is crap imo. Some reverb is ok and some delay too. I mostly use the Stereo enhancer, Reverb and EQ.

But I would like to get these nice plugins which visually show the amp and the cab and even pedals. Some Apple software has this I think??

Also is there such a plugin I can use while playing the bass instead of playing clean and then adding fx? I hate to play clean and then add distortion or whatever. I get inspired by the sound itself and if I want to play distortion then I must play with it and not add it afterwards (which I find very annoying and fake-like).

Thanks for any and all help and tips you can give to this utter beginner. Ah yes, if I can get those plugins for free would be great but affordable will also do if it can cover my needs.

you should be able to add any fx into your monitor feed, just make sure the fx is active as you play and that you have record monitoring switched on.
regarding actual fx with amps sims and stuff the majority of the stuff is paid for, but some come with basic free trial versions such as amplitube (the one i use) and you can buy different cab sims for a cost. I would never condone looking for the full software packages on torrent sites.

[quote name='Che' timestamp='1444427136' post='2883274']...
Thanks for any and all help and tips you can give to this utter beginner. Ah yes, if I can get those plugins for free would be great but affordable will also do if it can cover my needs.
[/quote]

Good evening, Che...

You might find inspiration rummaging through stuff on this site...

[url="http://www.vst4free.com/"]VST4Free ...[/url]