Why become a member? ×

Advice on DI / Preamp for metal

Naetharu

Hi folks,

I'm new to this idea of a DI-box/Pre-amp and so I am hoping that you might be able to give me a few pointers to help me along. I'm after something that can offer me the following features:

Balanced Line-out with ground-lift as the line-out from my amp is horrid (lots of unwanted white noise)
A good flexible EQ that will allow me to get some gritty boosted mid-frequencies to cut through the noisy guitars
Some nice overdrive / fuzz / distortion that I can subtly blend into my clean signal to give a growl

The addition of an Aux-in / Headphone out would be a great bonus but I can live without that if there was a great box that had all the above features nailed.

At the moment the boxes I have been considering are:

(1) MXR M80: http://www.thomann.de/gb/mxr_m80_bass_di_plus.htm

(2) Darkglass BK7: http://www.thomann.de/gb/darkglass_microtubes_b7k_bass_overdrive.htm

(3) Ampeg SCR DI: http://www.thomann.de/gb/ampeg_scr_di.htm

I'm kind of torn between them and I'm finding it hard to get a good comparison video / review. Does anyone here have experience with these and perhaps could give me some indication of how impressive (or not) they are when used both live into an amp and direct into a mixing desk? I'm especially interested in how effective you found the EQ shaping and whether or not the over-driven sounds on them were usable for getting the kind of mild grit you hear from the likes of Johnny Christ's bass work with Avenged Sevenfold.

Also, if you happen to know of any other similar DI/Pre-amp pedals that I could consider I would be really interested to know about them and hear your thoughts. It's pretty confusing to me at the moment so any guidance you can offer would be great.

All the best

James

[list]