Why become a member? ×

Which gear company or brand still has the quality they were once known for?

SingleMalt

Saw this thread on reddit, thought it might be interesting to see what people thought about basses and bass gear.

So the categories (so far!) are:[list]
[*]Brands that have maintained their quality level over the years
[*]Brands that just don't have the quality they used to
[*]Brands that have actually improved their quality from what they were known for
[/list]

Edited by SingleMalt

There could also, perhaps, be a third category for instruments that have improved virtually beyond recognition for which I would nominate Squier as a shining example, although to be fair the entry level bass market as a whole is massively better than it was when I started playing 25 odd years ago.

Edited by Cato

[quote name='Cato' timestamp='1444555915' post='2883967']
There could also, perhaps, be a third category for instruments that have improved virtually beyond recognition for which I would nominate Squier as a shining example, although to be fair the entry level bass market as a whole is massively better than it was when I started playing 25 odd years ago.
[/quote]

I like it. Going to add it to the op.

The Vintage Modified and Classic Vibes series are seriously fantastic. I've been gassing for a VM precision V for some time now.

Quite a few companies have taken a hit since relocating manufacture to the far east, but if proper QC and CS is in place there's no reason why this should be a disadvantage. I'm thinking of Ampeg. They also continue to suffer with the very negative reviews and forum threads about reliability and other issues regarding the SVT-7 Pro, which is a great shame as on paper this amp would suit me down to the ground! And I still want one regardless!! :blink:

But I'd say Fender have a very good brand image currently, after some very dodgy QC at various points in their history.

Edited by discreet