Why become a member? ×

Total Newbie needing some basic advice on upright/double bass

Naetharu

Hi folks,

So I find myself in unknown territory again. An off the cuff conversation at band practice last night resulted in the mention that the band had always wished they could have some bowed bass parts in various songs. I'm actually really keen on trying this both because I think it would be great for the music and as something fun to learn for myself.

So, if I'm to go ahead with this I'm going to need an upright bass of some kind and I have no idea where to start - I know about as much about upright/double basses as I do about mute-trumpets - which is to say I think they can sound awesome but beyond that it's all a blank :unsure:

A few points to keep in mind for me would be:

(1) I would still need to bring my electric basses to practice/gigs for the most part so size is a serious issue - also I live in a very rural area and so I have to travel to practice/gigs via a small car (Ford Focus) and so again, I need to be sure that what I get will squeeze in there along with a couple of electric basses, a couple of 112 cabs and some other junk.

(2) I'm going to be using the bass mainly for playing with a bow. I have no idea if/how much this might impact on my choice of instrument/set-up etc.

(3) I need to be able to practice in my flat, which means keeping the peace with my neighbors on all sides. Therefore, something that is quiet without amplification would be good. It does not have to be silent but I'm not going to be winning any popularity contests around here if I start making noises like Barry White doing a violin impression at 8am in the morning.

(4) I don't know much about amplification and so any advice about this side of things would be really handy too.

(5) Finally, while tone etc. is nice It's for playing at prog-rock gigs so I'm not too fussed about having a beautiful sound so much as simply something that gets the job done for the time being.