Why become a member? ×

Any Love for D'addario Bass Strings?

Che

[quote name='Billy Apple' timestamp='1445379073' post='2891139']
They've been representing at two of our Bash's so props from me just for giving the time to the grass-roots types guys who are doing it.
[/quote]
[quote name='Lozz196' timestamp='1445734072' post='2893809']
I`ve used Chromes a few times over the years, but at present need that clank you get from rounds, so back to what I know, Rotosounds. But kudos to D`Addario, as above, they`ve now been to 2 of the bashes, nice to see a company do stuff like this.
[/quote]

Yep got to agree...Andy from D'Addario is a really nice fella who has supported events in this part of the country even though he lives/works in the NE - now that's customer service!!

I've used them on guitar for as far back as I can remember. Great strings. I have been using d'addario pro steels on my basses for the past 3 years and recently am trying out some elixir's on the bass I use for reggae as I don't need that piano like tone for that.

Been using them for years. Mainly going between EXL-165s and EXB83s.

The EXLs are about as close as I've been able to get a roundwound string to feel like a flatwound.

I did briefly change them from the 165-5s to Elixir stainless 45s on the BB1025. A few slides up and down the neck and I thought I had sliced my finger open they are so rough. Plus the tension is a lot higher as well making fretting the notes really difficult. So they're off and back in the packet after one gig never to be used again.

As of today I've put on a set of ECB80s Chromes 45, 65, 75, 95 and a 132 B which I had do buy separately as they only do 5 string Chromes in 45s. A lot lighter than I am used to but they feel really nice and I'm looking forward to being able to play a bit closer to the bridge like I used to.

The BB425 is fitted with ECB81-5s and is my backup and used for rehearsals.