Why become a member? ×

wireless system

Pkomor

I'm after a wireless system for my bass.
I would like something that;

- has a fairly decent range
- does not lose signal quality
- does not eat batteries for breakfast

- is Cheap!!

i like the look of the samson stage 5 system, but reviews say they go through batteries like anything..
so, any ideas for a decent wireless system in the £50-£80 sort of pricerange?

Edited by Pkomor

[quote name='Pkomor' post='279546' date='Sep 8 2008, 10:41 AM']I'm after a wireless system for my bass.
I would like something that;

- has a fairly decent range
- does not lose signal quality
- does not eat batteries for breakfast

- is Cheap!!

i like the look of the samson stage 5 system, but reviews say they go through batteries like anything..
so, any ideas for a decent wireless system in the £50-£80 sort of pricerange?[/quote]

Ive been using a AKG guitar bug for the past 2 years without any problems at all. I paid £99 for it, not sure of the price now as it was a special price that Sound control were doing.
I get through about two - three gigs on one battery. I use a high powered rechargeable AAA.
Its got an ok range and ive been able ot go to the back of all our gigs at soundcheck without any signal loss.
The only downside (for me) is that its only got one freq so if you do happen to clash with, say a DJ or another band it can be a pain.
I use a slightly better AKG system with my other band as that's got selectable freq's but that cost me just under £200.

You wont find anything in your price range (or even double and more) that wont effect tone but its not as bad as some people make out IME and certainly usable. There will be slight differences between cable and wireless but i dont think most people would notice it once the band starts playing. Ive even recorded with mine as i like what it adds to the tone.

although the guitar bug looks good, its a bit too pricey!

does anyone have any opinions on any of these?