Why become a member? ×

Midi bass

tonybassplayer

I recently attended the bass bass in Bingley and was a bit restricted for time but I heard a couple of guys playing a bass that sounded just like a keyboard ( I am assuming it was midi but i am a complete novice with regard to this )

At the time I was playing soul/funk and rock but I have recently joined up with a singer/guitarist and there are many songs where a little bit of keyboard type sounds would sound better ( and fuller ) rather than just a low bass note.

Can someone point me in the direction of what i would need etc ( probably from a budget point of view to start....true Yorkshireman !! )

Many thanks

Tony

I'm sort of dabbling in this myself and I know Brokendoor has been using a MIDI system for quite a while now. You can choose to go down a number of routes depending on your budget and playing requirements but there aren't any super cheap options.

The cheapest way is probably to get a MIDI pickup fitted to an existing instrument, such as those made by Roland, Yamaha, Shadow or Graphtec. You'll need a pitch to midi convertor unit such as the Axon AX100 or AX-50 or one of the proprietary units made by Roland or Yamaha. The advantages of pitch to midi are some pitch bend information. The disadvantages can be tracking and in some cases MIDI lag (the time it takes for the waveform to be sampled and converted into a pitch). However the Axon system is supposed to be one of the best convertors as it relies on a neural net which has already been 'taught' to recognise the pitch of a waveform before its recieved a full wavelength. The net also needs to learn how you play which can take about half an hour to do according to Axon. The more recent Graphtec GHOST pickups can be embedded into a bass bridge so no unsightly third pickups velcroed into place.