Why become a member? ×

need clean pristine sound for practise/recording

zawinul

Hi peeps im a non gigging bassist just need a very clean amp to use with effects etc for practise amd recording

in past ive used roland jazz chorus as that was so cryatal clear

any suggestions. .. not interested in low thump only mids and top end singing. ..

will use only active basses

cheers

[quote name='zawinul' timestamp='1447200403' post='2905825']
because I have an electric bass which needs amplification!!!
[/quote]

Sorry, maybe I wasn't being clear enough. I, too, have electric basses which need amplification (despite being a drummer...), but I practise and record using a headset, plugged into an interface, into my PC, and can get a very clean tone that way (I'm not interested in 'grind' or 'dirt'; only clean, and being direct, it doesn't come any cleaner than that..!). When rehearsing with the band, I use an amp and cab (still clean, of course...), but don't need that for playing the bass. I'm not trying to be facetious, just wondering if your needs differed in some way. Sorry if it comes across badly. Why [i]do [/i]you need an amp for practising and recording..?

Edited by Dad3353

Guest bassman7755

As dad says, if you want a "pristine" sound for home practice and recording then your best bet is bass -> audio interface -> computer -> hifi/monitors, since any actual bass combo/rig that will come close to being pristine sounding is going to be expensive and its expensive because clean sound reproduction at high volumes takes a lot of expensive engineering and that engineering that you don't need if you don't need the volume.

In some ways I consider a bass rig a necessary evil and the "best" rig is one that degrades the sound the least amount in the process of bringing it up to gigging volume. The cab is usually the weak link therefore the first bit of the signal chain I discard when I don't require the volume.

Edited by bassman7755