Why become a member? ×

Reverb pedal for bass?

basscell

I've been messing with reverbs (mostly on my line-6 m5) and I'm still learning this, but one thing I can say: There's a world of difference between short-time room/hall/IR reverbs that basically just give your sound some "air" and "space" and the cave/infinite/feedback reverbs that really take your sound and sort of create a whole other thing from it. While both are technically just "reverb", musically and functionally these are really two different effects.

I would class hall as usually quite a long tailed verb.

Im a big fan of plate verbs in general, but think that bass sounds best with a short room verb in a crossover loop. That or a nice long hall or spring verb for ambient sounds. There are also pedals that do 'infinite' verb, which means that you can play a note, and have the verb be sustained theoretically forever.

[quote name='BassBus' timestamp='1447787757' post='2910420'] Video below has it at various lengths on the mod model.

[media]http://youtu.be/TJ7_V4V6eeo[/media]
[/quote]

This is great stuff!

Is there some sort of "shimmer" or octave-up in this? It sounds like some of the longer revrebs/sustains have this...?

[quote name='BassBus' timestamp='1447787757' post='2910420']
I use TC Hall of Fame. Lovely warm tone and goes on for ages if you want it to. Video below has it at various lengths on the mod model.

[media]http://youtu.be/TJ7_V4V6eeo[/media]
[/quote]

Thanks, sounds great! That's exactly what I'm looking for.

[quote name='ProfFrink' timestamp='1447788165' post='2910423']

This is great stuff!

Is there some sort of "shimmer" or octave-up in this? It sounds like some of the longer revrebs/sustains have this...?
[/quote]

No it doesn't have a shimmer. If you want that you might be better to go for something like the Neunaber Wet reverb. Plenty of YouTube vids on that. Or even the Strymon Bigsky, if you can afford it.

Edited by BassBus