Why become a member? ×

reading frustration

gapiro

I've been playing bass for 6-7 years and have played a couple of shows (Last Five years, Hairspray, The wedding singer) , all of them by the skin of my teeth pretty much (well, thats how it felt to me, I got compliments on the playing still)
I generally find that when i'm asked to do a run of shows, I spent a lot of time with the score and my reading ability feels better, although I know i'm not perfect, I know i'm playing something that loosely correlates between the written score and the feel of the music.

Anyway, the last month or so I've been dedicating 3 x 30 minute slots a week to practising reading
The last week i've been away for xmas and without instruments of any sort, come back to it tonight , tried to start and just falling to pieces.
It seems to be that I have nights (not just the first time) where this happens. In particular I find I am reading barely one note ahead and cannot count properly ( eg a dotted crotched followed by a quaver getting me completely and utterly out) , whereas on other nights I find i'm reading 2 bars ahead.

Is this normal? Will this get better over time ?

Hairspray is meant to be pretty tough, well done for getting through it! There's something about reading for a guitar based instrument that's particularly tough. It's been advocated before on here but before you play a note just read it through and just try and get an idea for what the tempo is, any rhythmic characteristics that may be a feature and of course any crazy leaps or time signature changes or such corners. We warm up physically, sometimes it's a good idea to do so mentally as well!