Why become a member? ×

Hi from Southampton Newbie

Ashweb

Hi all,

I am a total newbie at this - until October 2015 I didn't even own a bass and had never played any instrument before. I guess this almost qualifies as a mid life crisis but it's a lot cheaper than a Harley Davidson. :D

How did I get here? A bit like this...

I work on a freelance basis, currently in Southampton for just over a year now, and had been able to fill the evenings away from my family quite well by getting out and about in the New Forest area. Then due to bad weather and the evenings drawing in I found myself sat in my flat, watching rubbish telly, and it dawned on me that this was me for the winter; very depressing. Then came the light-bulb moment and I realised I could use the 'free' evenings to do something that [b]I [/b]wanted to do for a change.

I've always regretted not being in a band or being able to play any instrument when I was younger despite being a mad keen music fan so this was my time to put right at least one of those. Being a fan of rock music, I've always associated myself with the cool bass dudes rather than the thunder and lightning brigade up front so for me the choice of weapon was an easy one - had to be the bass. I also have a 13 y/o Son who plays the drums so we already have the makings of a house band to really annoy the neighbours.

A scout round on ebay found me a Tanglewood Rebel 4K bass and an Ashdown Perfect 10 30W Amp which is good enough to get me going - I've also invested in a set of TGI headphones as I like my neighbours really. I did have lofty ideals of teaching myself bass off the internet and set myself the target of playing one of my favourite riffs - Nirvana's 'Come as you are'. I was soon swamped by the amount of info on line and really needed some structure so bought the book Bass Guitar for Dummies which got me going.