Why become a member? ×

Beta Test & Review D’Addario NYXL Bass Strings

D'AddarioUK

Swapped these for the Elixirs on my P/J last night. Feel really good under the fingers - more compliant than the Elixirs, but still very responsive. Makes it easier to play fast with good articulation. Initial impression soundwise is that they have a punchy low mid presence and attractive sounding highs - not at all harsh or brittle. It will be interesting to see how they change with playing, but so far I'm very impressed.

Edited by Panamonte

I'm back in a band playing bass again (metal \m/ ) and our first gig is on the 31st January.

I haven't settled on a bass string brand yet, I've been using the ones I tend to win in raffles at Bassbashes.

I've been a bassist for many years and would be delighted to provide feedback on your strings.

BTW I'm old school and play 4 string basses.

Edited by MacDaddy

Just put these on my fretted Precision and been playing with them for an hour or so, they feel really good, snappy and responsive, not rough on the fingers at all. They sound clear, balanced and confident, no harshness, lots of clarity, can't really fault them in any way. They're really fun to play.

I'm going to wear them in a bit and then they're going on the fretless for band practice, really looking forward to trying them at the rehearsal room.

Thanks D'Addario, received the strings in record time! I've put these on a 4 string that was in desperate need of a restring. I'd echo the previous comments about tone, smooth with good harmonics and brightness, but not tipping into brittle or harsh territory. Very musical and pleasing to the ear. They really push out a full low end too. It goes to show that anyone having issues with their tone should try a string change first - it can be game changing!