Why become a member? ×

Another newbie question, sorry... Strings - high c

Wonky2

Im really sorry if this question is a stupid one .....

I went and met with another urb player tonight, an old school guy of a spritley 70 years plus and still giging hard... :)

I went to check out his bass as a measure to my own in regard to set up, how one should feel and sound etc... A reference epoint for me as i have zero db experience untill now.

His string set up was just fantastic, like silk to play with low tension and a beautiful tone....

He told me to throw away my E string, shift the A,D and G string over and buy a high C string to replace the G string (giving me a C,G,D,A string setup from 1st to 4th respectivley , but tune them to gdae as normal)

Im told this is 5th's tuning but then tuned to 4th's ,so c,g,d,a but then tuned tomstandar tuning of g,d,a,e... Giving a very smooth feel.
I could be and am probably completley wrong with that. :)

It felt great, didnt sound thin or floppy, didnt loose any depth or tone....... He said he had done it for iver 40 years and advised i do it too.

Im happy to do it as it felt right for me, but i just wondered, is this the norm? A common practice ?

Im due to buy some strings soon and wondered if buying them like this seperatly is better or buying a pack plus a high c and just selling the E string on....?

Anyone else do this ?

Edited by Wonky2

That sounds a tad extreme to myself to be honest. That being said, I prefer strings with a slightly higher tension so I can dig in more. I'd suggest maybe getting solo strings (These are tuned F#,B,E,A) and tuning them down a tone to concert pitch. I had this setup on an EUB I got from another BCer and it was like butter to play. It would probably also be easier / cheaper than buying a full set of strings and an extra C.