Why become a member? ×

Aerodrums

Bigjas

Has anyone seen or used these? [url="http://aerodrums.com/aerodrums-product-page/"]http://aerodrums.com...s-product-page/[/url]

I saw them on an episode Dragons Den on TV a few weeks ago and was really impressed. I am not a drummer so was wondering if they would be any good for a complete novice to learn with. They seem ideal to me as they are quiet and do not take up any room. I was gutted when I missed out on a second hand set for sale on here earlier this week. Being quite a new product I guess it will take a while for them to become more available second hand. I can't even buy them new at the moment as they have been so popular since they were on the telly. I have looked at an electric drum kit, but decent ones are more expensive than the Aerodrums and there will still be the striking noise on the pads to annoy Mrs Bigjas......

Jas

[quote name='Bigjas' timestamp='1454601379' post='2971252']...I can't even buy them new at the moment...
[/quote]

I ordered a set from here last week; have you tried ordering from there..? I've not tried 'em out yet, of course (not yet delivered...), but they should be fine for playing with a DAW and virtual drums. On their own, they are useless; one needs a PC at least in order to get sound. That said, this opens the door to any number of 'virtual' drum kits, They won't substitute for learning 'real' drums, as the rebound technique, although transferable, is very different. For seeing if one has an aptitude for percussion without the outlay, though, I'd say they're almost unbeatable (subject to them living up to the videos [i]et al[/i] on t'web...).
I'll report back once I get my hands on 'em. I use Superior Drums 2 with Reaper, on a pretty modest PC; we'll see how they perform with that.
Hope this helps.