Why become a member? ×

Adding LED Strips to pedal board...HELP

mrn1989

I fancied sticking some strips on the base of my small board, but would I be able to power the 12V DC strips of 9V , would they just be dimmer?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5M-300-LED-Under-Kitchen-Cupboard-Unit-IP65-Self-Adhesive-Strip-Lights-Tape-12V-/251445849639?var=550360590629&hash=item3a8b572e27:m:m6uRAi1jPtTtWBtVAjwJl9g

Any help from somebody better educated than me would be appreciated :)

I shall start by saying that I'm no electronics expert, more of an interested amateur.

LEDs are very sensitive to current. To operate, LEDs must be supplied with a voltage above their threshold voltage and a current below their rating. Current draw and lifespan are affected with even a small change in applied voltage. Because of that, LEDs require a current-regulated supply - usually just a series resistor, which I'm assuming is already in the fitting for each LED on that roll of lights.

So, getting to the point - it might work, but the current draw might be unstable, and they might not last long. They won't appear dimmer on 9v though, I don't think - I would expect them possibly to flicker, but it does depend on the threshold voltage for the LED. Have you tried it out away from the board? As it's only £5.99 per 5m roll, I'd have thought it was worth a test anyway.