Why become a member? ×

Fender Jazz Bass Special - Pick Ups... Advice!

lastanthem88

Hi all

I was originally drawn to these basses watching Duff Mckagen as a youngster, and when one cam up for sale 5 years ago I took a punt and bought it - and it's been my main gigging bass ever since, I have played 99% of my weekly wedding gigs on it!

I love the look, and most of all the feel. The neck is incredible and just feels perfect for me. However, I'm struggling with the sound a little, and can ignore it no longer!

It sounds 'twangy' and 'clunky' all the time, like a really good Duff sound, very mid and treble. If I was in a Guns tribute it would literally be amazing, but for the stuff we play it's not ideal - but I don't want to play anything else.

I'm a major novice when it comes to equipment and pick ups especially. I'm wondering if anyone has any advice? Do I change them and go for a diffferent set, could it be a problem with the tone circuit... any advice appreciated.

Thanks!

Hi thanks for replying - I'm using D'Dario strings, sometimes I use Ernie Balls.

Both pick ups work but the tone is just so 'clunky', not like s normal P bass at all.

Any suggestions? I don't know wether it's just the pick ups on these basses and how they are made to sound!

There is a treble (TBX) boost switch on these, selecting that should definately "Duff it up" somewhat, so switching it off should remove the Duffness. Sounds to me like possibly that switch isn`t working, and the bass is currently with boosted treble all the time. I`d take it to a luthier and get that bit checked out.

Hi Lozz, thanks for that! I'm starting to wonder if the previous owner has somehow 'Duffed it up' as you aptly named it, and played with the electronics to make it always sound that way!

Been messing this morning and the pot furthest right seems to do NOTHING at all when I'm turning it, no natter which was the three way selector is. Is that the tone control on these basses?

Thanks again,

Steve.