Why become a member? ×

Playing EUB on a stand

lowlandtrees

So I have been playing my Kania upright for around three years now. I find it difficult to balance especially when bowing the low E. There is no weight or real substance to it so some things I struggle with as it tend to twist away from your body.....like everything that you learn

Anyway I remember that some EUBs are are mounted on a stand or support.....so I put the Kania on its stand and adjust it to playing position and suddenly it is just so much easier to bow and fingering is a dream. The type of stand it is....with neck support means that you cant access the top notes.
Anyway....is this regarded as a kindof amateur way to proceed?

I don t envisage getting enough funds in the near future to afford a full size real thing so was thinking along the lines of a different type of stand that would give me access to the top of the fretboard.
Btw ..I still like the Kania a lot for other things like portability and the amplified sound is good.

I think there are some who would be horrified at the thought of playing your bass on a stand.
I've heard some people saying you need to "dance" or move with your bass.

However, I've had a very painful problem with my foot, which precludes standing in a fixed position for too long
So I hardly play my DB now - as it causes pain if I do it for too long :(

My EUB (Eminence) came with a stand, which allows me to play the bass while on the stand, and access most of the fingerboard quite easily. This has been a real revelation for me. Although I haven't had much time to play it lately, it does mean I can play for longer, as I can move about more. Usually, when I'm playing DB / EUB, I'm also doubling up, playing bass guitar for some songs too and the stand has really helped reduce time switching between the two, and I have more confidence, knowing the bass is secure, and won't fall etc