Why become a member? ×

Help for a complete beginner

Guest Lee Van Cleef

Guest Lee Van Cleef

I know this is likely to draw different responses, but I had to give up trying to learn bass a few years ago because of my MA. Now I have a bit of spare time I really want to try to learn to play, from scratch.

I was wondering what would be the best resources for theory and technique that aren't too dry. I have the Hal Leonard book and find it somewhat useful, but wonder if there's anything a bit more... I don't know... Exciting?

Guest Lee Van Cleef

Cheers for that! I'm mainly into heavy metal, but I'm not averse to other music. I want to learn theory, reading music being a bonus (hence the Hal Leonard), I just hope to be able to learn things like scales and whatnot in relation to music I relate to. I'm not sure how realistic that is?

[quote name='Lee Van Cleef' timestamp='1455228527' post='2977376']
Cheers for that! I'm mainly into heavy metal, but I'm not averse to other music. I want to learn theory, reading music being a bonus (hence the Hal Leonard), I just hope to be able to learn things like scales and whatnot in relation to music I relate to. I'm not sure how realistic that is?
[/quote]

I'm also a big metal fan :) and I also love my theory... The trouble is the two very rarely go together :blink: The metal songs I write for my band are in a given key (i tend to use modes of the harmonic minor for metal) with chords related to each other.... this is the exception though as the vast majority of metal is written by bolting together totally unrelated riffs... This makes it very difficult to write harmonically interesting basslines and is basically why so many just double the guitar riff.

Edited by CamdenRob

Guest bassman7755

[quote name='CamdenRob' timestamp='1455269190' post='2977584']