Why become a member? ×

Complete newbie looking for advice

mr zed

Hi all - I'm looking to start unleashing my creative side and do some home recording. Never done this before but this is something that has been on my mind to try for a while. I have a budget of around £500 and will be wanting to use my existing windows based laptop. This is not the best spec in the world but I'm hoping it will be ok to start me off. It has a core i5 processor & 6gb of ram. Currently running windows 7. I'm guessing this will be ok?

To get me going, is this the best bang for your buck or does anyone have any better suggestions? [url="http://www.gak.co.uk/en/gak-home-recording-bundle/97813?gclid=CMKVksmUjMsCFdgaGwoddzoHFg"]http://www.gak.co.uk...CFdgaGwoddzoHFg[/url]

Thanks all.

It depends on how much and how quick you want to proceed , the keyboard is for MIDI work , the monitors are ok , but not necessarily essential.

If it is instruments and singing ( maybe virtual drum samples) then the 2i2 is a great little bit of kit and you will need a mic or two.

A MIDI keyboard will be great for virtual plug in instruments , pianos , synths and orchestra parts , but you will need to get these aswell , some are free loads can be bought . If you are wanting to dive in and do the lot then the bundle is probably decent value.

My own route was to start very basically with the interface and a mic , then added the MIDI and finally the monitors , but even then my room is not really sound treated to make the best use of the monitors , so its mainly headphones .

Reaper is a great DAW, especially as you don't have to pay for it straight away & when you do, it's only $60.
It does take a little patience to set it up though, but once you have done that & got to know the basics, it's relatively easy to use.

Like Lurks says... What are you planning on doing? Real instruments & vocals with A couple of VSTs for keys & drums, all live instruments or all synths with just your bass?