Why become a member? ×

Monitor Advice

RockfordStone

I have been using the same M-Audio AV40's for some 6 years, but last night they gave up the ghost and the left powered amp speaker is now a considerably lower volume than the right hand side. It seems like it is possibly something on the circuit board, but with no confidence in diagnosing or fixing it myself, it would be cheaper or more practical to replace them.

They have served me well and given me good results, and a i could do a straight replacement for under 100 quid, but apparently the issue i have is common in the model so i'm considering upgrading to better options.

I'm happy to spend around the 200-250 so this is putting me in the options of:

KRK RP5s
Yamaha HS5s
M-Audio BX6s

Obviously speaker performance will differ greatly depending on room, but does anyone have any opinions or experience with any of the above and can recommend them.

TA!

I only have experience of using Mackie monitors, but I'd certainly recommend them.

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/oct11/articles/mackie-mr-mk2.htm

I have a set of MR8 and they're very good - albeit probably too large for the room I work in.

You can pick up a pair of MR5 (mk2) for around £200.

If you can get to hear a pair of PreSonus E5's, have a listen. Outstanding for the price (about £200).
Product Page.
https://www.presonus.com/products/Eris-E5

Review (you won't find many bad reviews, if any).
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/oct13/articles/presonus-eris.htm

One of my boys has a pair and they sound very good.