Why become a member? ×

Hello to you all!!

Mooey

Recently found this site whilst searching for gear on line! - This is great. I have been playing for 18 years and been in bands for about as long but only ever really meet other bassists at gigs when we are on the bill with other bands. This is never really the best situation to share info as every one is always trying so hard to look rock and roll!!

It appears that at this point I should tell you all what gear I use - I have been through loads but have settled on the following;

Status "Smart" 5 string. Maple body and graphite neck - Personally configured on line so exactly what I wanted!
Status "Shark" 4 String - A really stripped down bass
Gallien Krueger RB 700-II
Gallien Kruager 210RBH

Literally just ordered the GK gear. Been playing through my old Trace Elliott combo since my Marshall Bynamic Bass 400w 4x10 combo got buggered a few years ago.

Not really an expert on gear to be honest - I just know what I like.

Look forward to chatting with you all

Mooey

[quote name='Crazykiwi' post='30160' date='Jul 11 2007, 09:38 AM']Welcome mooey - I use GK stuff myself, you must get a hell of a percussive slap sound with that set up![/quote]
Not played throught the GK gear live yet but the Status has always been really versatile in terms of tone. I play in a 3 piece (Guitar and Drums - 3 part harmonies) so always been loads of room for expressive tones to expand the overall sound. Perhaps if there were a few more egos (by which of course I mean guitarists) in the band I would have to tone this down. Played for a number of years with an original material band (fairly jazz funk / pop in style) and the clickety clack used to fit in there really well.

Out of interest, what compression do you use with your GK set-up??

[quote name='Mooey' post='30808' date='Jul 12 2007, 04:59 PM']Out of interest, what compression do you use with your GK set-up??[/quote]