Why become a member? ×

Learning bass. Feel/understanding vs rote learning?

CletePurcel

I have started learning bass (I am a guitarist).

I have been going through a couple of books. They concentrate a lot on theory (which is understandable) and the notes and patterns that should be played around various chords. This can get very dry and it is not always obvious why certain patterns and chords are introduced at various stages. They just are.

I have found that I can play the songs with the backing tracks and sight read the notes from the books, but once I get the groove and the song down I can just remember it and can play it back without really thinking. So I then move on to the next song/exercise in the book. My finger strength and timing are improving a lot by doing this and it is good to move on to the next piece/exercise in the book.

My question is should I really do this memorisation and playback or should I concentrate on trying to feel the patterns and scales associated with the chords BEFORE I MOVE ON? As a beginner is it better to just be able to play lots of stuff (which is more enjoyable) or should I not move on to the next lesson until I have 'understood' fully how the notes and patterns relate to each chord that is being played etc. I hope that makes sense. Obviously having the feel/knowledge for which notes go along with which chords is ultimately an essential skill, but the books will take a lot longer to finish if I go down that route now.

I guess my question really is as a beginner will it all gel at some point down the line or should I put the more tedious work in now on making sure I understand why the notes are written along with each chord.

I mainly want to play blues and rock so I guess I want to be able to go to a rehearsal and the songwriter says these are the chords and I can play along with it.