Why become a member? ×

Born Again Wannabe - Greetings

SpondonBassed

Hello Forum,

By way of introduction here is some bumf about myself.

I am apprentice trained as an aircraft mechanic and have a varied background in aero engineering. I was an all-weather motorcyclist for 25 years. Now I enjoy my comfort. I have not been in a position to work for years as I have been a full-time, live-in carer for my elderly Mum. She is now in residential care and I am looking to occupy my time gainfully by learning the bass like I should have in my twenties.

Where bass is concerned, I am interested in ALL of it... just feed it to me in small chunks please. Being an amateur I am hoping to jam locally whenever possible. See my screen name for my location. I'm not really interested in the "Always Connected" movement. Still very much an analogue man, this is my only concession to social networking on t'net.

I miss my apprentice years before I had to choose between the band and my employer.

What I've read so far about this forum and its Ts & Cs looks very good and I hope to get to know many of you over time. [s]I'll work on a signature file and profile photo soon, I promise.[/s]

As promised, signature file below.

Cheers
John

Edited by SpondonBassed

Thanks Baldwinbass.

I've been thinking about what to say regarding the music I play. Keeping in mind that there is perhaps a difference in what I like to play and what I [i]should [/i]be playing...

I play along to about 40 songs such is my repertoire at this time. I feel comfortable that I know 30 of them to a standard where I am unlikely to lose my place. They come from my "formative years" - some sixties lots of seventies and some eighties stuff. The only reason being that they are familiar to me in a way that recent "hits" aren't. If any of you want the play list that I practice with I will be happy to oblige.