Why become a member? ×

Hi from Oxford !

luckydog

Hi I'm new to the forum, thought I'd say hello.

I currently play a '74 Jazz through a Bassman 50 Head/2x15 cab. In the past I've owned and played '87 Streamer through TE GP7/2x10/1x18, and '71 Precision through Ashdown 4x10. I also play upright, and have a 90's B&H upright bass with a custom precision split pickup which is interesting.

I've been playing bass for 40 years, and currently play in a kicking original band, sort of brit-pop befitting blokes in their 50's.

Genetically, I think I was wired to play bass.

I've visited this forum, and recently joined to ask a question, but where I can answer or help or engage in interesting discussion I'd like to.
It's all about the bass, as they say!

LD

Thanks for the welcome chaps, and great there's real local bass peeps here ! Chasing Daylight [url="https://www.facebook.com/chasingdaylightoxford"]https://www.facebook.com/chasingdaylightoxford[/url] is my band. Real Hammond and Leslie marks it out, and I play a '71 Precision in this band, the rig in my avatar, looks like was run over by truck. Will look out for your bands chaps.

[quote name='luckydog' timestamp='1459959672' post='3021311']
FinnDave, checking your band facebook page I see your sunburst Jazz which looks neat, and a Precision. Hey, what about that ? The paint got lost on the P bass I use somewhere along the road !

LD
[/quote]

Cheers, your bare wood Precision looks good too. The sunburst Jazz is a 60s classic (nitro paint) and the white Precision has a sunburst twin as well. I also bought a black Jazz last week as I've bust a finger tendon (right hand) and can only play with a pick for now, the new bass was to cheer me up!

FinnDave, thought your Jazz looked vintage 60's. Nice. BTW I use a pick with the Precision in Chasing Daylight for tone/sound and clear timing, horses for courses. My Jazz has the finger rest on the thumb side, and fingers is the mode of choice there.

Spondonbassed, thank you.

LD