Why become a member? ×

I think I've bought the wrong gear!

bigjimmyc

Hi all. I'm new to basschat so please be gentle!

I recently ebayed virtually all my old gear (ashdown MAG combos, 2x10, 1x15, hartke 4x10) and bought 2nd hand ABM EVO II 500 with ashdown 4x8 mini (600W) and 115 mini (300W) cabs. I may have made a mistake!

It sounds great at bedroom levels. The problem is I just can't get solid low end out of this rig above 4/10 on the Output. It farts out at E.

I play in a loud heavy rock band, and use Peavey 5-string basses (E and Eb) plus a Tobias 4-string tuned to D. Very little effects in use, although I like the valve grind in the ABM. I've experimented with compressors to control the signal but to no avail.

I suspect the cabs are the wrong choice. Clearly they're small cabs with high output ratings, which was part of the appeal. As it turns out, the 1x15 driver is not original, it has a Celestion BN15-400S installed. One of the 8" drivers has also been replaced.

I didn't want to lug a 4x10 around any more! Given how much cabs have advanced since this gear was new, I'm thinking of trading for a current 1x15 or 2x12 cab.

By the way, I don't suspect the amp head. I've swapped in my remaining MAG 400 and get the same result.

So I could use some advice please. Limited funds are available. Size and weight are key, but I've got an open mind. The ABM rig can go back on sale if necessary.

Final thought (although I doubt I'll get much support for this on basschat) - I also supply our band's PA. The bass bins are really poor though, so could I fix my problem by upgrading those and DI instead?

Cheers
JC

Guest bassman7755

Have you tried running the cabs individually to determine which one is the weak link ,I'm guessing its the 1x15 since this has a much lower power rating than the 4x8.