Why become a member? ×

two questions

right, question one is a (i would assume) simple one. i just got given a new bass, a yamaha rbx260. must say, i am rather liking it so far. its very different to my first one but not in a bad way at all. i think its all pretty good set up wise, it is certainly playing nicely but like i said its very different. the pickups are wonky, not sure if that is normal as i have not had a precision before. they are higher in the centre and slope off in opposite directions. it seems to be no issue whilst playing and its nice and clear through the amp. my main question though is about the tuners. they were unscrewed for delivery and swung in to avoid damage, which was fine but they have a rattle. the washers under the nuts on the peg side are loose. to look at i would assume its just a case of tighten the nut up but i am not sure. i am a mechanic by trade and i am only too aware of how much damage can be done by over tightening. so do i just try and nip them up or is there a procedure to follow?

second and possibly more foolish question. the old bass is not very good. it was a present but its basically worthless in money terms. i always said that when i got a better bass i would play around with the old one. i have always found the idea of a fretless tempting, but i dont really have spare funds for things like that at the moment. so it got me thinking how feasible it would be to simply file down the frets to the height of the fretboard. would that work? its obviously appealing to have a free fretless, but if it kills the neck then its not really worth it. it has a bolt on neck so it could be changed later if i dont get on with it. i'm not diving into anything, just mulling it over.