Why become a member? ×

ohm question

spencer.b

So I'm no expert with ohms etc but am I right in thinking if you're using one cab and a biggish head a 4ohm cab would be getting more power out of your amp,if so then why are most 4x10 and 2x12 8ohm,I'm thinking of getting something like an aguilar 212 to use on it's own so am I better off getting a 4ohm one if I can find one?

they're quite often 8ohm so you can pair them up and go down to 4 ohm if you fancy playing bigger venues. For most pub gigs one cab is enough so a 4 ohm cab is fine, to be honest an 8ohm cab on its own is also fine as the actual difference in volume isn't all that great, but the real experts will be along soon enough....

Yeah I'm after loudness .I do all sorts of gigs but one of my regulars is 3 piece wedding band where we take our own pa with no sub. Another is a trio with cigar box guitar, bass and drums , sometimes there is decent pa but sometimes there isn't and I have to fill the room and the bass is quite prominent in the songs
I've got a matamp 410 which does the business but I can't be bothered carrying it as I gig 4ish times a week
Thinking of a aguilar db212 but maybe the 4ohm is a better idea IF I can find one?

Edited by spencer.b

A sensitive 8ohm cab will be as 'loud' as a 4 ohm cab with less sensitivity... added to which more drivers/displacement means you will think you are louder. You don't say what power your amp is but with cabs of equal sensitivity you might have to have your amp turned up a fraction more for the 8 ohm cab... things are never as straightforward as 'X' v 'Y'! :)

[quote name='spencer.b' timestamp='1461624730' post='3036327']
I use an orange ad200b which I love the tone of but I also have an aguilar ag500dc which I'll take if need loads of volume
[/quote]