Why become a member? ×

So where do I solder the capacitor thing ?

ambient

Following on from my other recent thread about wanting to add a passive tone control.

I've bought a capacitor, so where do I get it soldered ?

This is the inside of my control cavity.
[attachment=218045:unnamed.jpg]

It's a Bartolini preamp, I just want to add a capacitor to give the effect of a passive tone control permanently turned down, cutting the treble, I'll add that using the active preamp.

Looking at the photo, the silver knob thing at the top is the volume control, the thing that the 2 black wires from pickups go to is the balance control, that's it hidden under the bundle of wires next to the blue thing. The blue thing controls the gain.

Many thanks in anticipation of your replies :).

Edited by ambient

I'm no expert but I'm not convinced you can add a capacitor to an active preamp circuit and modify the tone shaping in the way that you hope. Someone else on here is sure to know better than me regarding a modification but I just wonder why you can't cut enough treble using the circuit as it is?

[quote name='HowieBass' timestamp='1461788610' post='3037722']
I'm no expert but I'm not convinced you can add a capacitor to an active preamp circuit and modify the tone shaping in the way that you hope. Someone else on here is sure to know better than me regarding a modification but I just wonder why you can't cut enough treble using the circuit as it is?
[/quote]
This.

Even if you were to add a passive style tone pot on the output of the pre-anp, you can't ignore the electronic reaction between the tone pot and the circuit of the preamp.
I wouldn't do it. But I too am no expert.

Just soldering a capacitor in there isn't going to make it into a passive bass.

Even if the pickups are capable of working purely passive, for starters you'll need to come up with a way of cutting the power.