Why become a member? ×

Reading... converting to bass

thepurpleblob

Executive summary... I want to learn to sight read the bass. Where do I start?

Longer version... I started out as a percussionist in orchestras, brass bands and out bands forty years ago (yes, I'm old but I did start young!). Although technically nothing special, I could sight read that stuff (many percussion instruments) so I got the gigs. So, anyway, I'm pretty reasonable at the basics; I know that stuff.

I've been playing bass 'by ear' for about 15 years and I've been playing in pub covers bands. I'm totally sick of it on many levels. So, my plan is to put the hours in to learn to read on the bass and see where it takes me. Even if it doesn't take me anywhere directly, I'm sure it'll improve my all-round playing considerably.

I'm looking for suggestions for good starting points and materials to use. I'm aware of the Major's stuff (and I've worked through a few basic ones) on here but I'd be interested in any opinions/thoughts.

There are numerous excellent resources so I hope there will be some further suggestions to this thread.

If you use a tablet I would highly recommend Stuart Clayton's series of Reading Music on iBooks. Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced.

Whatever you use, you need to practise daily and use additional material to practise as well. I have shelves of various music and sometimes I will pick a simple score and sight read to a metronome and then try and pick harder pieces to reach my limit, which I often do!

I could have written that OP myself about 4 years ago.

In my area, there are a lot of concert bands which are like brass bands but have woodwind as well as brass. They often have "String Bass" parts (or Electric Bass for the more modern stuff).