Why become a member? ×

Grasping the theory - simple methods & resources?

So I'm about six weeks into my bass journey & I'm enjoying myself; I've had four lessons so far and can play along pretty much to one song that I asked my teacher to show me and bits of two others, I can also do a hammer-on and string muting.
So far all of the tracks I've taken to him have been plectrum-specific but I intend to learn a finger-only number next.

So far so good, but so I don't just become good at copying what I've been shown, I want to learn/understand the theory of my chosen instrument and this is the bit I'm finding tricky. Starting at the nut I can just about name the frets up until the 12th on each string, but only in order & very slowly - it just seems a mystery!

I've bought 'Music Theory for the Bass Player' by Ariane Cap, but I think it's a bit advanced for a complete beginner, though I intend to keep it.

I've always been far more 'right brained' than left, with a lifelong well of creativity; while beyond (good) personal accounting, I've always struggled with mathematical concepts - which may explain my need for help in this area.

Any suggestions of beautifully simple methods/resources for grasping the basics and advancing please?

Hi Highwayman,